Flubber nails

NAILS OF JELLY.

I HAVE THEM.

Oh, nothing like a spot of photo-commentary incongruity to start a Monday evening!

Let’s backtrack and recap.

No, first, let’s shamelessly plug my giveaway: one decorated Moleskine notebook and three Ulta3s, all for you! Just leave me a comment in the linked post and your contact details before December 12, 11.59pm to enter the draw.

I somehow found my way to my local and hidden Ulta3 today, and purchased a few bottles. The one in the middle is one of those purchases — ‘Dusty Rose’, which looks like a warm browned pink with some shimmer. (The two bottles flanking it are Earl Grey and Cocoa Bean, which I’ve swatched here). I also picked up ‘Waterlily’, which is a deep warm plum with fine gold and pink  shimmer in the bottle (which unfortunately disappear slightly on my nails). I haven’t a swatch yet, because purple is evil.

I have a strange aversion to the colour purple, which I’ve hinted at on my About page. Purple is quite a popular colour generally, I think, but for me, it signifies Absolute and Terrifying Evil.

This isn’t a new trope by any means. There are squillions of evil villains who drape themselves in purple, but no one is scarier than Maleficent from Disney’s Sleeping Beauty:

(Click to enlarge for serious terror. Note that she turns everything around her purple. THAT’S HOW EVIL SHE IS.)

The complete opposite of evil is green jelly. The wobbly stuff. It’s sweet and cool and tastes amazing with vanilla ice cream, and you get jelly and ice cream when you’re in hospital because you have tonsillitis*, which generally makes it awesome. And un-evil.

(*Valerie refused to believe me when I told her this. Neither of us have had tonsillitis that landed us in hospital, so really, my belief in jelly and ice cream in hospitals stems only from rumour and things on television. I believe in jelly and ice cream at hospitals in the same way that kids believe in Santa Claus. Please tell me you’ve had ice cream and jelly while in hospital for tonsillitis and keep hope alive.)

And in honour of awesome jelly (and perhaps as a foil to the evil-but-beautiful Waterlily in my nail polish collection), I purchased a bottle of NYC/Ulta3 ‘Jelly’, which is a lime green with a jelly finish.

NAILS OF JELLY. (And now you know why I started this post with that phrase.)

I love it and will never wear it, but I love it anyway. It’s much more neon in real life than in this shot, which is a bit over-exposed but it’s the closest I could get to capturing the colour. If you ever gave yourself ‘manicures’ with highlighter pens, this is basically a grown up, slightly more polished version.

It’s so unwearable on my skintone and with my wardrobe, but it looks like I’ve just come back from killing Flubber, which makes it strangely appealing. (Sorry, Flubber fans. I have nothing against Flubber really.) This is with five coats or so because I was aiming for opaque bottle colour. It looks more Flubber/lime jelly-like with the usual two or three, but I stupidly forgot to take a photo.

I also forgot to take a photo of yesterday’s and today’s outfit, an oversight for which I apologise most profusely. I will try to remember tomorrow, I promise! (Today’s outfit was amazingly boring anyway, trust me.)

And, again, don’t forget my giveaway — click click click!

4 Comments to “Flubber nails”

  1. I didn’t fully know why you were scared of purple (coz i love that colour!) but when you had posted up that sleeping beauty picture up i know why! It scared me too in my childhood.

    Dusty Rose when i swatched it is a nice & age appropriate colour for all ages. I gave it to bf mum and it looks real nice on her.

    • Lol! My dislike of purple one of those irrational fears I like to nurture. I really think Waterlily might turn that around, though.

      Thanks for the tip on Dusty Rose — bought it with my mum in mind so it’s good to know that we’ll both probably enjoy it. 🙂

  2. Unfortunately, I have had my tonsils out and the current practice is to eat toast! Apparently it helps the scars start forming or something? You used to get icecream in my dad’s day, but sadly this is no more.
    But I’m pretty sure you get jelly with almost every meal!

    • How tempting it was to edit this comment so it said, ‘yes, jelly and ice cream is indeed the norm!’ But I didn’t. It makes me very sad to hear that hospitals no longer do this, although the jelly makes up for it, I suppose. Toast sounds terribly painful, though! Ouchhhh.

Leave a Reply

